State Committee

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

The State Committee is made up of advisers and professionals who help to oversee the state activities of Iowa PBL.

Ryan Steines, State Adviser

Ryan is a CPA at Winkel, Parker & Foster accounting firm in Clinton, IA. Ryan's involvement with PBL started when he was a student at Ashford University and he has continued his involvement as a Professional Division member. First joining the State Committee as Professional Division Liaison, he began his role as State Adviser in 2011.

Lynn Isvik, State Officer Coordinator

Lynn first began her PBL involvement as a local chapter adviser at Upper Iowa University, where she was an Associate Professor of Business until her retirement in May 2018. Initially joining the State Committee as State Executive Secretary, Lynn took over as State Officer Coordinator in the fall of 2016. Lynn also served one 3-year term on the FBLA-PBL National Board of Directors.

Erin Flage, System Administrator & State Officer Coordinator

Erin is a Multimedia Developer at Purdue Global University where she has worked remotely since 2012. Erin first became involved with PBL as a Competitive Event Judge at a PBL National Leadership Conference. After moving back to Iowa, she joined the State Committee taking over administration of the Iowa PBL website and later expanding her duties to include oversight of social media accounts and assisting with conferences. Beginning in 2019, she will be assisting with State Officer Coordinator duties.

Chris Moon, State Secretary

Chris is a Business Administration Professor at Des Moines Area Community College - Boone campus and a local PBL Adviser. Chris holds a law degree from Drake University and formerly practiced family law. Chris joined the State Committee in 2015 and has been invaluable in planning and assisting hosting state conferences as well taking minutes during meetings.

Joe Hanson, At-Large Member

Joe is a Business Administration Professor at Des Moines Area Community College - Urban campus and a local PBL Adviser. Joe has an MBA from University of Nebraska-Omaha and his Ph.D. in Education from Iowa State University. Joe joined the State Committee in 2015 to help assist with conferences and provides valuable input as a local chapter adviser.

Kent Seuferer, State Chair

Kent is a Education Program Consultant for the Iowa Department of Education and has served as the State Chair for Iowa FBLA-PBL, BPA and DECA since 2018. However, Kent's involvement with FBLA-PBL began in high school where he served as a local and state FBLA officer and continued with PBL where he served as Iowa PBL State Vice President and State President. After graduating from AIB College of Business, Kent continued his involvement with Iowa PBL assisting with conferences before taking his current position with the Iowa Department of Education.